India Queen basmati rice
India Queen basmati rice


To strengthen the government policies for rice that are directed to a private sector led Agricultural Transformation programme, the Federal Government has resolved to acquire and install 10 integrated rice mills across the country through a bid.

This was revealed by the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Dr. Akinwumi Adesina at the contract signing ceremony between  the Ministry and Flourtech Engineer PVT of India and Alvan Blanch in Abuja,

The contract of the ministry with the Flourtech Engineer PVT of India involves engineer, procure and construct 10 Rice Processing Plants under EPC contract, and that with Alvan Blanch in Abuja, involves establishment of 25 new Grain  Aggregation Centres (GACs).

The newly established rice mills would be managed and owned by private sectors. Dr Adesina was also quoted as saying that some of the states have also approached the ministry for the establishment of the proposed rice mills with full certificate of occupancy and commercial rice farms to be established to produce and supply rice paddy.


Each rice mill would be of capacity 36,000 tonnes per annum,with a total capacity of 360,000 tonnes from all the ten rice mills.

The beneficiaries state where these 10 rice mills would be implemented and commenced would be Kebbi, Zamfara, Kaduna, Niger, Benue, Kogi, Bayelsa, Bauchi, Ogun, and Anambra,

Whereby the 25 new Grain  Aggregation Centres (GACs) would have a capacity of producing 40,500 bags each at an estimated cost of N38 million, including equipment and building in paddy production across 16 states of the Federation.

Each GAC would be well equipped with Grain Cleaner, Dryer, Line Holding Bin, Electrical Control Panel and Generating set. This would increase the government treasury by N3.61 billion annually in rice and other grains importation.

The GACs would help in increasing the p[addy productivity, their quality and the price and would be settled in Kebbi, Niger, Sokoto, kano, Jigawa, Bauchi, Gombe, Benue, Nassarawa, Kaduna, Kogi, Ebonyi, Zamfara, Katsina and Enugu states.