Indian Queen Basmati Rice by Bharat Industrial Enterprises Limited
Indian Queen Basmati Rice by Bharat Industrial Enterprises Limited

Addressing a national convention of BSRMA and AIRMA here on Tuesday, Industry minister Jai Kumar Singh assured the Bihar State Rice Mill Association (BSRMA) and the All India Rice Mill Association (AIRMA) all help in setting up more rice mills in the state.  “Prospective rice millers have the freedom to opt for government supported schemes or go in for their own plans. Single window system and an online approval process are open to all.” he said. “The youth should be their own bosses and provide jobs to the deserving and underprivileged ones so that Bihar can prosper,” he stressed.

The Chairman of AIRMA, V Mohan Reddy, said Members of Parliament (MPs) from Bihar are not pleading the case of state rice mill owners whereas those from other states vociferously speak for their State Rice Miller’s cause. He said, “Bihar has the best resources but rice millers lack basic infrastructure. The state leadership must hear their grievances.” Delegates from different districts of the Bihar demanded that their association be made a nodal agency to facilitate paddy procurement, billing, handling, rice transportation and marketing. This, they said, would save a lot of government money and also improve the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of the state.

Tarsem Lal Saini, AIRMA president from Punjab, said all members of BSRMA are entitled to transportation and milling charges as per the policy of Union government. “Rice millers in Punjab are getting all facilities and I will take up the matter with the chief minister. Bihar Rice millers don’t need to knock at others’ doors,” he added. GB Rao of AIRMA said, “We will take all the problems of Bihar rice millers at the national level.”

Delegates and national federation members who spoke at the convention included Mr. Sushil Choudhary (West Bengal), Mr. PR Yuvraj (Pondicherry), Mr. Warke Peter (Kerala), Mr. Santosh Sansthaliya (Odisha), Mr. Makhan Lal Singhla (Haryana), Mr. Rakesh Agarwal (Uttar Pradesh), Mr. Ashok Agarwal (Maharashtra), Mr. K C Ashrani (Madhya Pradesh), Mr. RC Patel (Gujarat) and last but not the least Mr. Ramlal Khetan (BIA). Mr. Anand Singh of Patna district BSRMA conducted the programme.