Rice Innovations Fair of Scalable Technologies” was organised by the Africa Rice Centre and its partners to boost the  rice farming in the country and to make the farmers aware of the technologies about the farming techniques on 1-2 September 2014 in Cotonou Benin.

This is the first ever event related to the rice awareness in the country.The Delegates that were present in the event include H.E. Daini Tsukahara, Ambassador of Japan in Benin,Dr. Yo Tiémoko, FAO Representative in Benin,Deputy Director General – Scientific Director,INRAB Representative,Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries, Benin

The show will display the following : 

  • New climate-smart ARICA rice varieties;
  • SMART-valleys,
  • A low-cost participatory and sustainable approach to develop inland valleys in sub-Saharan Africa for rice-based systems
  • Mechanical weeders;
  • Power tillers;
  • An energy-efficient rice parboiler and
  • RiceAdvice, a decision-support app for providing farmers with field-specific management guidelines.

Download (PDF, 131KB)

The main objective of the fair was to create awareness among the farmers  about the latest innovations in farming sectoras well as to identify with development partners, donors and researchers promising scalable technologies and define publicity pathways.

It was a two day fair in which the first day includes the discussion of eleven technologies and how to showcase each innovation among the public.

The second day will include a visit to the Ouinhi district in Benin to see inland valleys that have been developed using the Smart-valleys participatory approach. These achievements are the result of AfricaRice’s partnership with the Benin extension agency called Cellule Bas-Fonds under the Rural Engineering Division of the Ministry of Agriculture Animal Husbandry and Fisheries.

About Africa Rice

AfricaRice is one of the 15 international agricultural research Centers that are members of the CGIAR Consortium. It is also an intergovernmental association of African member countries.

 The Center was created in 1971 by 11 African countries. Today its membership comprises 25 countries covering West Central East and North African regions namely Benin Burkina Faso Cameroon Central African Republic Chad Cte d’Ivoire Democratic Republic of Congo Egypt Gabon the Gambia Ghana Guinea Guinea Bissau Liberia Madagascar Mali Mauritania Niger Nigeria Republic of Congo Rwanda Senegal Sierra Leone Togo and Uganda.

For more details visist http://www.warda.cgiar.org/ or www.AfricaRice.org